Login



ABOUT GAOS

The Geneva Amateur Operatic Society was created in 1971 by a small group of musical theatre enthusiasts. Since then it has grown hugely in scope and membership, and today includes a substantial non-Anglophone contingent. Productions are in English and are performed entirely by talented amateurs at some of the city’s most exciting venues. They have earned the Society a reputation for shows of a very high calibre.

Our calendar typically includes an orchestral spring show, a catered summer musical event, and a traditional English pantomime in early December. In addition, our youth group puts on a production in late summer - a great training ground for their theatrical skills, and also a very useful addition to their resumés! Regular Choral Group concerts, musical evenings and a Carol Concert round off our selection. We are always pleased to welcome new members!

The 2016-2017 GAOS Committee

Chairman
Edward Brown
chairman@gaos.ch

Vice-Chairman and Social Secretary
Steve Pavis
vicechairman@gaos.ch

Secretary
Patrick McDonald                                       
secretary@gaos.ch    

Asst. Secretary & membership
Jo Marceau
membership@gaos.ch

Business Manager

Sharon Gill
business@gaos.ch

Asst. Business Manager
Vacant
assistantbusiness@gaos.ch

Publicity Manager
John Fox
publicity@gaos.ch

Asst. Publ. Manager
Christina Conti
assistantpublicity@gaos.ch

Technical Manager
Robert Boyle
technical@gaos.ch

Treasurer
Gen Steele
treasurer@gaos.ch

Asst. Treasurer
David Pittuck
assistanttreasurer@gaos.ch

Asst. Technical Manager
David Wrigley
assistanttechnical@gaos.ch

Off committee
Musical Evenings
musicalevening@gaos.ch

Choral Group

choralgroup@gaos.ch

Memories - the history of GAOS

memories@gaos.ch

Events team

social@gaos.ch

The charities that we support

GAOS is a not-for-profit society and its members receive no payment. It receives no subsidies from any sources, and covers its costs solely through ticket sales and members' subscriptions. While most surpluses are absorbed by the rental of theatres and of storage and rehearsal space, GAOS makes substantial contributions every year to many charitable organizations, mainly local. In recent years, these have included:

Association Alzheimer Suisse
Association Amis Parents Enfants Inadaptés
Association Le Copain
Association Partage
Bell Nursery School
Carrefour-Rue
Christchurch Earthquake Appeal
Church of Scotland Geneva – Malawi Project
Coeur des Grottes
Disability & Development Partners
English Speaking Cancer Association
Fondation Cap Loisirs
Fondation Chapelle d'Emmanuel Church – Chair Lift
Fondation du Parc zoologique La Garenne
Fondation Frédéric Fellay
Fondation Foyer Handicap
Fondation Jeunesse et Familles - Founex
Fondation Sport-Up
Fondation suisse - Chiens d'aveugles
Fondation suisse pour paraplégiques
Friends of India
Geneva Cancer League
Genevox
Handicap International - Special Section for Landmine Victims
Hopitaux universitaires de Geneve – Cancer Research
International Committee of the Red Cross
Jardin de Montbrillant
La Croisiere de l'Espoir
La Maison des Enfants, Nyon
Ligue Genevoise contre le Cancer
Maison de Tara
Pour un Sourire d'Enfant
ProNatura
Salvation Army
Sight Savers
Terre des Hommes
Zambian Orphans Appeal

© Copyright GAOS 2017 · All Rights Reserved

Contact us by email:
Information

Webmaster

Address:
Case postale 142

1211 Geneva 19

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software